Siopao (Asian Filled Buns) – Daring Baker’s Challenge February 2015

filledbuns17_little-house-dunes

by Heather Harris Brady

As I’ve teased in previous posts, I’m a new member of Daring Bakers. Each month a member creates a challenge for everyone else, and we all make the same thing – more or less! My first challenge was for filled buns. Challenge accepted.

The February Daring Bakers’ challenge is hosted by Julie of One-Wall Kitchen. She challenged us to an easy, simple filled bun using no-knead dough.  For the recipe visit the Daring Bakers website.

Here’s my step by step – I made a few changes to the process based on my experience, but not the ingredients.

filledbuns_little-house-dunes

filledbuns1_little-house-dunes

I stirred in two cups of the flour, let it hydrate for a few minutes, then stirred in the other two cups.

filledbuns1a_little-house-dunes

This gave me a soft dough that seemed quite manageable.

filledbuns2_little-house-dunes

While the dough was rising I made the fillings – a satay style, a Korean BBQ and one surprise you’ll see at the end! But first I browned a pound of ground turkey.

filledbuns3_little-house-dunes

I set half of it aside. To the half still in the pan I added 1/2 c. diced onion, 1/2 c. diced carrots, 1 T. garlic and 1 T. ground ginger.

filledbuns4_little-house-dunes

I let it cook together until the carrots were just tender. Then I added 1/3 c. peanut butter (natural, creamy), 3 T. fish sauce, and 2 T. soy sauce.

filledbuns5_little-house-dunes

Simmer for another five minutes.

filledbuns6_little-house-dunes

While the satay cooked I stirred 1/2 c. Korean BBQ sauce into the turkey I set aside.

filledbuns7_little-house-dunes

Since I’ve covered bun-making thoroughly in the past few weeks I’ll skip the details from here.

filledbuns8_little-house-dunes

filledbuns9_little-house-dunes

At this point I preheated the oven, when the buns were nearly double.

filledbuns10_little-house-dunes

I brushed them with an egg wash (one egg beaten with 1 T. water).

filledbuns11_little-house-dunes

filledbuns12_little-house-dunes

I baked them for about 20 minutes, they came out a pretty golden brown.

filledbuns15_little-house-dunes

The egg wash made the tops nicely crunchy, and pretty.

filledbuns16_little-house-dunes

Voila – my first challenge completed!

filledbuns18_little-house-dunes

Then, because my kids were starving and I know you can get such an item at a Chinese bakery – I used the rest of the dough to wrap turkey hot dogs.

filledbuns13_little-house-dunes

filledbuns19_little-house-dunes


 

Two years ago: Baked Custard
One year ago: Chocolate Strawberry Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

