Butternut BBQ Sauce (Low Sugar) ala Watson

squashbbq6_little--house-dunes

by Heather Harris Brady

For the past few months I’ve been reading about Watson’s new vocation. The Jeopardy-playing IBM computer with no tastebuds has taken up cooking. I know.

Not only cooking, but apparently Watson has created an incredible, low-sugar, barbeque sauce based on wine and squash available for purchase. When I got over my skeptical indigation I thought – what a great idea! So before I get into my version of this recipe, let me tell you that I am also a new beta tester for the Bon Appetit Watson app. The first time I tried to log in the site was malfunctioning, but I look forward to trying it and reporting back to you. If you’re curious here’s the story.

In the meantime, here’s my take on a squash-and-wine based bbq sauce. It’s amazing on grilled chicken and roast pork, but it makes a great sauce for wraps too. If you’re having trouble wrapping your mind around this concept, think of it as less a bbq sauce and more a complex chutney perhaps.

Butternut Squash BBQ Sauce ala Watson, Makes about three cups

  • One large butternut squash
  • One bottle sweet wine (I used a moscato.)
  • One fresh red pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 c. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 c. cider vinegar
  • 1 t. salt
  • 2 T. fresh ground ginger
  • 2 T. fresh ground horseradish
  • Ponzu to taste

Preheat the oven to 375. Wash, peel and chop the squash.

squashbbq_little--house-dunes

Toss it with olive oil, spread it on a roasting pan and roast until soft.

squashbbq3_little--house-dunes

While the squash is cooking, pour the wine into saucepan and quickly reduce it by half.

squashbbq2_little--house-dunes

Add the squash and the vinegars. Then the red pepper and onion.

squashbbq4_little--house-dunes

Cook on medium to a thick puree, about 40 minutes. Give it a taste. If it’s too sweet add a little more vinegar.

squashbbq5_little--house-dunes

Add the ginger, horseradish, salt and ponzu. Taste and adjust as necessary. (You could toss in some red pepper flakes too.)

squashbbq7_little--house-dunes

You could puree this with an immersion blender for a smooth sauce, but I liked the texture so I left it.

squashbbq6_little--house-dunes

This sauce is actually better after it sits a day in the fridge so the flavors can blend.

One year ago: Hamburger/Hot Dog Buns

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

