Thousand Island Dressing

thousandisland6_little-house-dunes

by Heather Harris Brady

It’s salad time but I have to say I rarely buy dressings. I usually just settle for throwing together some kind of vinaigrette when I need one. However, one day I had a beautiful buttery leaf lettuce and a yen for Thousand Island. Most of the recipes I found called for mayo, another thing I never have. If I made my own I’d have the Uncooked Egg Problem, which I’d prefer to avoid. So, I reasoned, could I not make a dodgy sort of hollandaise and use that as a base?

Why yes, yes you can. If you have your own fresh eggs, so much the better.

Thousand Island Dressing, Makes about 1-1/3 cups

  • Two whole eggs and one egg yolk
  • 1/3 c. white wine
  • Cracked pepper
  • 1/3 c. olive oil

Seasonings to taste (amounts are a guideline):

  • 2 T. ketchup (storebought or my recipe)
  • 2 T. cocktail sauce
  • 2 t. asian hot chili sauce
  • 1/3 c. sweet relish
  • 2 T. minced red pepper
  • 1 t. worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 t. paprika
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Have your eggs and oil standing by. Beat the eggs together well. Reduce the wine and pepper over medium heat until the pan is nearly dry (au sec).

thousandisland1_little-house-dunes

thousandisland_little-house-dunes

Add the oil to the pan, and start whisking like mad as you drizzle in the egg.

thousandisland2_little-house-dunes

You should end up with something vaguely like a hollandaise. Let the pan cool to lukewarm and then whisk in the seasonings.

thousandisland3_little-house-dunes

Adjust the ratio until it pleases you. Then scoop it a bowl, cover it with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least two hours. If you leave it overnight so much the better, the flavors will blend more.

thousandisland4_little-house-dunes

Store the dressing in the refrigerator. Serve with any green salad. To frost your plates just rinse them quickly under cold water, shake off the excess and place them (unstacked) in the freezer for 10-15 minutes.

thousandisland5_little-house-dunes
One year ago: Strawberry Shortcake

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. lulu says:

    I have no idea why I don’t make salad dressings more often. They’re not that much trouble and so much better than store bought.

Leave a Reply

