mixedfruitpie10_little-house-dunes

by Heather Harris Brady

The men in the house have been lobbying for a pie lately. I like to do rhubarb this time of year but I didn’t have enough left for a whole pie on its own. So I combined what I had with some beautiful fresh raspberries and a few apples that needed a job.

One note, I’m in the process creating a new basics page for essentials that I refer to time and time again. You’ll see that note below.

Michigan Fruit Pie, Makes one 9″ deep dish pie

*See new “Basics” page (coming soon, for now there are backlinks).

  • 2 c. rhubarb washed and chopped into 1″ sections
  • 1-1/2 pints fresh raspberries
  • 4 medium baking apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 3 T. fine tapioca

Fill a big mixing bowl with the fruit.

mixedfruitpie_little-house-dunes

Combine the flour, sugar and tapioca. Toss it with the fresh fruit gently.

mixedfruitpie1_little-house-dunes

Preheat the oven to 375. Line a pie dish with the crust and flute the edge.

Pile in the fruit.

mixedfruitpie2_little-house-dunes

Mix the streusel according to my “Basics” recipe and sprinkle it evenly over the top. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until the fruit is tender all through.

mixedfruitpie3_little-house-dunes

mixedfruitpie6_little-house-dunes

mixedfruitpie5_little-house-dunes

I’m really happy with the flour/tapioca combo as a thickener. It gave just the right consistency for nice clean slices that were not at all gummy. I’ll be looking into that some more.

mixedfruitpie10_little-house-dunes

mixedfruitpie4_little-house-dunes

Store leftovers covered at room temperature.

One year ago: Chocolate Eclairs, French Pastry Week

