Dry Cured Pork Shoulder (Coppa)

coppa

by Heather Harris Brady

Given that I am drawn to long, labor-intensive projects (writing books, art, raising kids, etc.) I guess my charcuterie fascination isn’t really a surprise. However, I haven’t had the opportunity to indulge it – until now, when I found a fresh pork shoulder waiting innocently in the meat case at my usual grocery.

Full disclosure, the photo above isn’t my finished project (it’s from here) because my project won’t be finished for at least a month, maybe longer. But it’s the goal, where I hope to end up. But if you would like to set out a homemade charcuterie platter for the holidays too you’re going to have to start now.

This my blend of seasonings, feel free to substitute. You can’t reduce the salt though, that’s your preservative!

Dry Cured Pork Shoulder

One pork shoulder (6-8 lbs.)

1 c. kosher salt

1/2 c. brown sugar

2 t. garlic powder

1 t. cajun seasoning

1 t. paprika

1 t. black pepper

1 t. ground sage

Combine all the seasonings in a bowl.

drycure1_little-house-dunes

Mix well.

DSCN7204

Remove the wrap from the pork and wash it with cold water.

drycure3_little-house-dunes

Put it on a cookie sheet and massage the rub into it, covering every bit of it.

drycure4_little-house-dunes

Slide it into a ziplock bag and return it to the refrigerator. We’ll check on it in a week!

One year ago: Fresh Cranberry Toasts (Thanksgiving Appetizer)

Cranberry Toasts, Little House by the Dunes

Leave a Reply

