breakfast_cookies-little-house-by-the-dunes

by Heather Harris-Brady
True confession time, I usually don’t eat breakfast – and I bet you don’t either. Typically I just nibble on something standing up while I pack the lunches for the day as we all head out the door. But if I could get something healthy, highly portable and yummy – heck yeah!

A girl can’t live on muffins alone so I decided to try my hand at breakfast cookies after perusing the options at the grocery. I figured I could do better than $2/cookie, with better ingredients to boot. I started with my low-fat chocolate chip cookie and added lots of healthy grains. But I kept the chips because we all need a little somethin’ amirite?

These would be great for camping breakfasts. My kids walked by when they came out of the oven and scarfed them down.

Breakfast Cookies, Makes 36 3″ cookies

1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened
1/2 c. agave nectar
3/4 c. packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 t. vanilla
1 t. cinnamon
1 t. salt
1/2 c. quinoa flakes
1/3 c. milled flax seeds
1-1/4 c. rolled oats
2 c. all-bran, or similar bran cereal – slightly crushed
1/2 c. wheat germ
1 c. spelt flour
1-1/2 c. unbleached all purpose flour
1 t. baking soda
1 c. mini chips
1/2 c. chopped dried fruit of your choice
1/3 c. unsweetened applesauce
1/2 c. nonfat plain yogurt

Cream the butter and the brown sugar. Beat in the eggs and the agave nectar.

breakfast_cookies1-little-house-by-the-dunes

Add the vanilla, cinnamon and salt. Add the next 10 ingredients and mix well.

breakfast_cookies2-little-house-by-the-dunes

Then stir in the applesauce and yogurt.

Preheat the oven to 375. Drop tablespoons of dough onto lightly greased cookie sheets and flatten slightly. Bake for about 15 minutes, until lightly browned.

breakfast_cookies3-little-house-by-the-dunes

Cool completely and store in ziplock bags.

These freeze well, so just grab a few before you leave the house. They’ll be ready to eat at your desk with that first cup of coffee or tea.

breakfast_cookies4-little-house-by-the-dunes

 

