Pupcake

pupcake6_little_house_dunespupcake_little_house_dunes

by Heather Harris-Brady

Before you question whether I’m completely off my rocker, the answer simply is yes – yes I am. In the pre-Minnie days I swore that I would never be the person making sweaters for a dog, sharing my chair with a dog and baking treats for a dog. I was a cat person, and don’t get me wrong, I still love cats.

But, I have to tell you, this little fuzzball is my most-demonstrative fan. She never has a bad day and if I’ve been gone in the bathroom for five minutes she’s as happy to see me when I come out as if I had been gone for hours. That’s rare people – if only everyone could have that in their lives I’m convinced the world would be a better place.

Here then, is my recipe for pupcake – puppy birthday cake! Since Minnie is a toy poodle, I bake the layers as 4″ rounds and she gets slices for a treat.

Pupcake – Makes two three-layer 4″ round cakes

1 egg

1 t. honey

1 T. peanut butter

3/4 c. whole wheat flour

2 t. olive oil

A pinch of baking powder

2 t. wheat germ

2 T. 1/3 less fat cream cheese

Shredded cheddar cheese for decoration

pupcake1_little_house_dunes

Preheat the oven to 350 and combine all the ingredients in a bowl. Add 1/3-1/2 c. warm water, depending on your flour. You’re looking for a stiff dough.

pupcake2_little_house_dunes

Stir until well-combined.

pupcake3_little_house_dunes

Shape into 4″ rounds about 1/4″ thick on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

pupcake4_little_house_dunes

Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned.

pupcake5_little_house_dunes

Cool completely, and spread the top of each layer thinly with the cream cheese for frosting. Decorate the top with shredded cheddar cheese sprinkles.

pupcake7_little_house_dunes

pupcake8_little_house_dunes

You can add other favorite ingredients (mashed carrot/sweet potato) to this recipe, and you can also bake it in sticks or bites instead of layers.  Just decrease the baking time accordingly. As there are no preservatives in this recipe you’ll want to store any leftovers in a ziplock in the refrigerator and use them up quickly (within a week). I’ve given these as holiday gifts to dog-loving friends too!

Leave a Reply

