White Chicken Chili, Little House by the Dunes

I am rather ashamed to even give a “recipe” for this because it’s one of the flat-out easiest things you can make. BUT, you can throw it together in five minutes, everyone always likes it and the leftovers are great for lunch. I always keep the salsa and beans on hand and even if I am driving home thinking I have nothing for dinner – voila. Even if your perfect roast chicken has been attacked by sandwich-making wolverines like mine, you probably still have enough left for this recipe. Roti chicken from the grocery store works great too.

White Chicken Chili Recipe

1 large jar (12 oz.) salsa, I use medium

1 large jar (48 oz.) precooked white beans (I use Randall‘s, they are a Michigan product and fantastic – plus there’s a coupon on the website.)

2 c. chopped cooked chicken (if you want)

3/4 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Pour the beans and salsa into a large pot and heat through. Stir in the chicken, simmer for five minutes, then stir in the cheese.

Serve when the cheese is melted and stirred throughout.

This is a great anytime chili, with or without a side of cornbread. I hope you will take this recipe and make it your own. You can add other types of meats – or leave it out, add sage or other things to spice things up.

Next post: My farmhouse cornbread!

